Type to search


Bill Shedd wins first ASA conservation award


During its annual summit last week, the American Sportfishing Association (ASA) presented its very first conservation award.

The inaugural Gary J. Zurn Conservation Award was given to Bill Shedd, Chairman and CEO of AFTCO Manufacturing Company.

The award is named after long-time ASA supporter and Government Affairs Committee Chair Gary Zurn, who passed away in August 2021. Zurn was a partner and Senior Vice President of Big Rock Sports for nearly 30 years. During that period, he gave his time and talent to help ensure that anglers across the United States had access to well-managed fisheries, both freshwater and saltwater.

“There is no better person to receive this recognition than Bill Shedd,” said ASA President Glenn Hughes. “Both he and Gary Zurn share a legacy of working tirelessly to conserve our nation’s fisheries on behalf of the sportfishing industry and anglers everywhere.”

Left to right: Glenn Hughes, Richard ‘Chip’ Powell, Peter Foley, David Pfeiffer, Chris Megan, Jesse Simpkins, Dave Bulthuis, Kirk Immens and Mike Leonard.

During the same event, the ASA recognised the contributions of all its former Board of Directors’ Chairs. Those in attendance at the Summit were David Bulthuis (President, Pure Fishing); Peter Foley (President, Boone Bait Company); Kirk Immens, (President, Sportco Marketing); Chris Megan (Publisher, On The Water); Richard ‘Chip’ Powell (President, Mason Tackle); David Pfeiffer (President, Shimano North American Fishing) and Jesse Simpkins (Vice President of Marketing, St. Croix Rod).

Main picture, from left: Mike Leonard, VP Government Affairs, Bill Shedd and Glenn Hughes

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *